How to move lot of vertices with python in Maya?

Hello,

I am currently scripting a tool to flip and mirror objects using a base mesh as a reference (similar to abSymMesh, but aiming for faster performance), and I need to manipulate vertex positions.

Initially, I attempted to use xform and iterated over all the vertices, but I found this approach to be somewhat slow for objects with more than 6000 vertices.

I considered using setAttr because I’ve previously used it for transferring weights, and it allowed me to input a list of vertices and weights efficiently. However, I encountered issues when trying to apply it to the positions of vertices.

Therefore, I decided to leverage the Maya API 2.0, which has worked quite well. However, I am facing challenges with implementing undo functionality, as it does not work “out of the box” with the setPoints method.

As I am relatively new to Maya and scripting within it, I realize I may be lacking some foundational knowledge. From what I have read, it appears that I need to create a command using MpxCommand to encapsulate my code for moving vertices. Is this correct, or is there a simpler approach I am overlooking?

Additionally, how can I ensure that this operates correctly within a single Python file? Because I have also come to understand that a command needs to be initialized when Maya starts.

Thank you in advance for any guidance or suggestions you can provide.

Variant of way:
From Marcus Ottosson (aka mottosso): Undo/Redo support for Maya Python API 2.0

Background Story:
Maya-Python API - Access to Undo Queue
https://groups.google.com/g/python_inside_maya/c/fqX9mNfg5j0

Even if you do not use this way to solve the problem, you will usefully expand your consciousness :slight_smile:

I did see that option but wasn’t totally sure it was the right and easiest way to go.
Now that you’ve pointed it out, I will definitely give it a try !

Thank you for the answer

Thanks a lot!