Debugging maya python from VS code, how do I use debugpy?

I’m having an issue trying to set up vs code for maya, it says I’m using ptvsd for debugging, but I cannot figure out how to switch to debugpy
I tried to use ptvsd in maya, and the first time I run a script it works, but subsequent attempts fail
I’m new to VS code, so its probably something simple haha, I’m switching from pycharm :upside_down_face:

this is my launch.json configuration, I was following Debugging in Maya with debugpy and VSCode - Aleksandar Kocic | Pipeline TD

{
      "name": "Python Attach",
      "type": "python",
      "request": "attach",
      "port": 5678,
      "host": "127.0.0.1",

}

and I tried Debugging Maya using Visual Studio Code for ptvsd

I would prefer to get the debugpy version working since ptvsd is deprecated

please help! and thank you!!!

What is the code you are running in Maya to enable debugpy?

// Use IntelliSense to learn about possible attributes.
    // Hover to view descriptions of existing attributes.
    // For more information, visit: https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=830387
    "version": "0.2.0",
    "configurations": [
        {
            "name": "Python: Attach using Process Id",
            "processId": "${command:pickProcess}",
            "justMyCode": true
        }
    ]
}

I use this in my launch.json. Then in the Debug and Run section of VsCode I select the Attach using Process Id in the dropdown
Hit the run button or F5 and it should give you a new dropdown, type in maya (obviously you have to have maya running already)

I do find that sometimes it doesn’t connect straight away and I need to swap back and forth between maya and vscode to get it to connect. But after that you can just use break points as you would in VStudio. No need to have ptsv or debugpy (at least in my exp as I haven’t got debugypy directly)

{
      "name": "Python Attach",
      "host": "127.0.0.1"
    }