Where to begin in my Tech Art journey

Hello!

I’m a first year student pursuing a 4 year degree in game design but after a few months of rummaging around what the game design pipeline looks like, I can definitely see myself being interested in becoming a Technical Artist. I like to be proactive and try to use my time as effectively as possible so I’m trying to find out where the best place to start is. Theres so many different aspects that it can feel a wee bit overwhelming trying to find out where to start. I know its a little vague of an ask, but I appreciate anything, from tips, online resources, to what to focus on first and/or the foundation skills that I should spend time on.

Hey buddy,

If you are going to deal with games, you will soon enough come across Maya or MotionBuilder. So you might as well start here.

It can be a little long winded at times, but the lessons are valuable and true.

Best of luck

2 Likes

Take a look at: Fresh TA looking for advice regarding expanding my skills set

Some pretty good advice in that thread.

2 Likes

And for a general answer, this article (written for coders, but I think it also works for tech artists) talks about how specific languages or syntaxes (or specific tech skills or 3D apps) are less important than overall systems thinking. And the courage and curiosity to break things open and see how they work.

1 Like

@clesage @bob.w @ritterrav

Thank you all! I really appreciate you taking your time out to send me these messages. I have been playing in Maya somewhat and also teaching myself C# but this gives me a clearer idea of what I should be doing. The threads and articles are great.