Unity Alpha Mask from one object to another

So, I’m in Unity and I’m trying to create an alpha mask based on a gradient from one object to another. Basically, if anything is behind this object with the gradient texture, I need the black and white value of that gradient to determine the alpha channel in the fragment shader of the object behind it. I’m still a little new to writing shaders, and am trying to figure out how to get the color information from one shader to another. On top of this, I need it to adjust from world space to screen space of the mask AND the masked object, so there will probably need to be some vertex to fragment conversion …that involves both shaders. Any help would be amazing. Thanks!

Are you doing this in a text shader? Or in a shadergaph?

Text. HLSL with Universal Render Pipeline to be exact. But am open to ShaderLab if there is an example. I can always just translate it to code once I get it working.

I’m not 100% sure I get the use case. You want a foreground object that works like a lens or portal, so that objects behind it become transparent?

That sounds like a job for a stencil buffer, combined with a render layer that makes sure the stencil is populated before the background object renders:

Or am I missing something?

Can’t be stencil. I need alpha to change based on a black and white gradient. I think I found something in the asset store. Digging through the code now to see if I can adapt it to my needs:

Alpha Mask UI, Sprites, Tilemaps, Particles, and 3D

It’s easy enough to control the alpha per object – it’s the inter-object communication that will be tricky.