Portfolio Review?

Hi, so I’m an aspiring technical artist. I am entirely self-taught and have no professional experience.

If anyone here has the time, would you mind checking out my portfolio and letting me know your thoughts?

Should I be trying to land a job? or should I be working to improve my skills first?

You can check it out at here

Thanks in advance

Initial review of your portfolio website itself: it is way too busy. (Now if you were going for a WebDev job, that’d be a different story) You need to get to the meat and potatoes immediately, try for something similar to Artstation. Having to learn how to navigate a new Site is a turn off and potential employers want to see your work immediately.

Concerning tech art role in a studio, typically it is not an intro role. So having no professional experience may hamper your odds. From what I gather, the tech artist role is often conversions of 3d artists/programmers that voluntarily take on tasks to help improve the pipeline, troubleshoot issues for other artists, and take on abstract tasks/documenting. At the core, you need to be a problem solver.

Quoting Dennis on Reddit: “Without seeing your portfolio, the best thing you can do for yourself as an entry-level TA with no production experience is to fill your portfolio with a couple solid PBR artworks and show off any kind of scripts or tools that solves a bottleneck in some kind of practical work flow, even if that work flow is something like a mod team or even your personal art pipeline. Houdini is always a huge plus to show off. You can also show custom master materials/shaders, Unreal Blueprints or Editor Utility Widgets, custom Blueprint nodes, rigging tools, etc. There are a lot of options available to you to show you’d be a valuable addition to a studio.”