IKFK Switch vs IKFK Blend

Hi! I’m considering whether there’s any reason to go with IK Blend for my rigs instead of IK Switch.

The difference is that IK Switch is an enum where you only have 2 options with no blending, but it’s possible to create automatic snap when you switch with no external tools required. It also eliminates the need of creating 2 keyframes next to each other when you need to make a switch.

IK Blending has an option of slowly blending between IK and FK but makes the setup somewhat harder and possibly with more overhead, as you need to use blending nodes instead of, for example, choice node. It’s still possible to create the auto snap with built in tools, but may complicate node network further.

As an animator myself I rarely find it useful to use blend between IK and FK, most of the time switch needs to be instant in one frame.

So far all points to the fact that it’s in fact easier both for riggers and animators to use switching instead of blending. But in majority of rigs I see (with few exceptions) riggers implement IK FK blending instead of switching. What is the reasoning behind that? Is it really necessary?

Curious to know both riggers’ and animators’ points of view.

EDIT: Forgot to also mention that in a lot of cases IK-FK blend is linear, especially with stretchy IK, resulting in weird deformation which basically make IK-FK blend simply unusable in real situations.

Almost every animator I have ever worked with just wanted a switch and not a blend. It’s a little less mental overhead to have to worry about and typically the swap between IK and FK or vice versa happens on one frame anyways.

1 Like

Correct me if I’m wrong but the IKFK Switch and IKFK Blend can be achieved in one set-up.
Basically, if an animator wants only IKFK Switch, then use integer values. 0 and 1. If he wants to blend, then use decimal values 0.2, 0.5, 0.7 etc.

I think this kind of set-up is also implemented in the Advance Skeleton Rigs.