How to approach C/C++ linker errors

I want to learn to fix c/c++ linker problems in an IDE - agnostic way.
I’m starting the book Hands-On C++ Game Animation Programming
With the goal of Improving my C/C++ (I’m a novice) & Learning Open GL.
I’m using VS Code even though the book is using Visual Studio.
This is deliberate, because it’s not the syntax I need to learn,
It’s most often linker errors I hit when with C++ tutorials

LINKER PROBLEM
I have reached the point where I expect to render a blank window, and I am getting many linker errors
I am compiling with cl.exe. Each error is one of LNK2019 or LNK2001

One example is

WinMain.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol __imp_ChoosePixelFormat referenced in function WinMain

WinMain.cpp has the following

// define constants to reduce the ammount of code included with windows.h
    #define _CRT_SECURE_NO WARNINGS
    #define WIN32_LEAN_AND_MEAN
    #define WIN32_EXTRA_LEAN
    #include <windows.h>

So I am including <windows.h> but I guess an arbitrary subset of it?
VS Code finds the reference (F12) to ChoosePixelFormat, but it is only a signature

WINGDIAPI int WINAPI ChoosePixelFormat( _In_ HDC hdc, _In_ CONST PIXELFORMATDESCRIPTOR *ppfd);

Inside

`C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Include\10.0.17763.0\um\wingdi.h`

So I don’t know if the issue is

• the signature in wingdi.h is not sufficient for compiling
  • cl.exe does not ‘see’ wingdi.h (maybe I need to edit a .vsode json file?)
  • some other C++ compiler/linker black magic I’m ignorant of

The situation above seems typical to all the linker errors I am getting.

Any help would be appreciated.
Hopefully someone has a linker error checklist they can share, when they hit linker errors…

This seems like a good article, perhaps it will help me.

https://www.cprogramming.com/tutorial/compiler_linker_errors.html