HLSL Vertex Animation Texture - Lerping UV Channels

Heya! I’m a Junior Technical Artist who has a background in Programming, 3D/2D Art, and Game Design (as some context).
I need some help, please!

I need to do an exercise about animating a bird flap without rigging it, so I must use Vertex Animation Textures as a requirement and deliver the HLSL code.
I literally need to replicate this example from twitter, but without using Shader Graph from engines like Unity/Unreal.
Example

The thing is that I just know the basics of HLSL (basically, Freya Holmér’s YouTube videos, which I totally recommend).
So I understand what I have to do, but I don’t really know how to write it down. Especially the alternation between different UV channels in a loop, and how I load the different UV channels into 1 texture using the RGBA channels (using texture samplers???).

I tried to find examples related to this, but I can’t really find anything helpful.
Is there anyone out there who could give me a little push, please? It’s a really important exercise I need to deliver.

Hey there. For starters, I would like to point out that this example does use vertex position offset, but doesn’t actually use vertex animation textures. It is using an alternative method which projects “key poses” from the front orthographic view into the 4 available UV sets and has the shader lerp through them. That also means than UVs couldn’t be used for texturing the model, and it was colored only using vertex colors. Do you specifically need to use vertex animation textures? The setup will probably be a little different because you will need to bake your data into a texture instead of the UV sets.