Automating Photoshop via 3DSMax with DotNet and Com Interop

Hello peeps,

Just posted a new article on my site detailing how to control Photoshop via 3dsMax using a dotnet assembly and COM interop. Hope someone finds it useful.

Awesome stuff - useful subject matter, and a detailed and well-written tutorial to match. Thanks! :slight_smile:

I have robot website envy.

I’m new to the whole COM stuff so it’s very nice to see it so well explained. I’m gonna dive into this at a later stage, but i already know this will teach me tons of cool stuff.

Thanks.

VALIUM REHAB FORUMS

Very nice indeed

Hi chaps,

thanks for your replies, i’m glad you found the article useful. I’m pretty much learning as i go on the COM stuff myself, but I was blown away at the potential of what you could do with this. I’m hoping i can post a few more updates to this as the wrapper class library, with some work could mirror most of the photoshop operations.

I’m trying to figure out how the COM stuff works with the 3dsMax dot net bridge in order to be able to instantiate the interop assembly without the wrapper. But as you can see from the article, Without casting in max the object type is not what i would hope. Im thinking it’s a late binding issue in max - maybe by taking the system.type method i can use invokemember to call the COM properties directly from the interop assembly within max. It’s a little outside my confort zone to be honest, but I’ll see if it’s possible. I did some other Dotnet research on extracting the 3ds file thumbnail so i’d love to adapt that so I can get that without an extra assembly besides the interop.

Hello All,

Just posted an update to the PhotoShop control library. It now contains the following methods -

article is as before, at http://www.lonerobot.net