Tools/shader jumping off point

Hello, I have been lurking these forums for a long time but hardly ever post. I have recently been doing a lot of soul searching and always find myself coming to the realization that when it comes to tech art I want to get into tools/shaders. I have some experience with rigging and scripting inside Maya. But every time I sit down to work on a rig to put a rigging reel together I get “side tracked” with trying to create tools to make my rigging process easier. I rarely actually finish the original task I set out to do, rigging wise. Now, I know some python and MEL. I don’t remember anything from the C++ courses I took 8 years ago. So, I guess it boils down to me wanting to focus seriously into tools programming and not sure where to actually…start? Would focusing in on python be something that would give me the ability to apply for tech art positions?

Also, when wanting to focus in on tools and shaders, what do you show off as a portfolio? Would I edit together a reel of some tools in action?

Idk if I would put tools and shaders into the same category. Both require different skillsets when it comes to the job. Tools is more about friendly user interfaces and understanding the people who will use the tools, where as shaders is more about complex math, performance, and art. Granted these jobs can change depending on the side of the studio and the specifics of the role, etc…

I’d say jump into it. There are a lot of resources out there. the new shader dvd I’ve heard is good, there’s always “The cg tutorial” and “real-time rendering” also.

if your looking to get into tools, I’d just start watching everyones demo reel on TAO. Depends if you want to get into animation tools, (mirroring poses, saving poses, etc) or stand alone tools (xml/asset management), or shader editing systems, or whatever.

I’d say make a cool tool ,and make the shortest video you can that gets the point across.