Technical art coding test query

Hi there guys!

Had a question about coding tests. Are they common in your experience?

I recently did one for ea, 3 questions were python and 2 were c#. I managed to get 4 out of 5 done in the 100 minutes provided, but just missed the timer for the last one, figured out the bug in the code I had written a few minutes after :face_with_hand_over_mouth: ( I read the question wrong so had to restart the entire code half way through) :joy:.

Wanted to know what you guys thoughts about this? Do you think missing the timer for one will rule me out for the job? Im hoping thats not the case but I have never done a timed coding test before :man_shrugging::man_shrugging:. I figured TA interviews are not as strict as engineering tests (from my experience you have to get every question correct with the most optimal solution) but I really have no idea
:sweat_smile::sweat_smile:

Thanks all :blush::blush::+1:

In my personal European experience coding tests are quite rare.
But maybe that’s just me :thinking:
Also, I most certainly never had a timed test in my life.

At RSE we do a tech art test with some coding/shading questions but it’s not timed.

I’m not sure I see the value in a timed test. It’s not a realistic situation that i’ve ever experienced that I suddenly only have 100 minutes to solve 5 problems, especially all by myself.

Even with the non-timed test though it’s more about seeing what solutions they came up with and their style as opposed to a hard pass/fail based on “did the code run”… That’s just me and some of the people I work with, obviously every company is different and every interviewer within that company probably has some standards they’ve just arbitrarily set.