TA Portfolio Review

Hey guys, I’m a fresh out and looking for some advice. could you give my website a quick check, and post your opinions. (the website will be getting a revamp within 2 months)

Truthful opinions are the best opinions.

not one opinion???

Your portfolio has significant design issues you need to address before anyone even looks at content. I’d suggest posting at polycount.com to get feedback on your portfolio design/visuals.

I appreciate the feedback.

I’m redoing my horrendous site, and would like to get some feedback on this new design. I’ve really been surprised at these new one page sites, but don’t want to get get fancy. What do you think about this or this design?

A lil more detailed one can be viewed here.

As always honesty is at the upmost importance. I’m not a huge designer, so any help would be great. Plus it would be awesome to have a good design before I spend a bunch of hours making a bad design. Thanks.

Design looks good to me (the first, not the second, which has flow issues in the whitespace that could be confusing). You just have to be careful not to over-load it with too many items. Include only your best work. Don’t feel that you have to include lots of categories, or put up your entire history.

My opinion is that it’s best if you include only things you think people might hire you for as a primary responsibility. That means show only your “expert” skills. If you’ve got a bit of breadth and can do other things, that’s good – keep that in reserve. Mention your other skills in a job interview or phone screen, if it seems appropriate. Provide examples only if asked for (but that does mean you should have them on hand). Does anyone disagree with this advice?

Never show “just ok” work to pad out your portfolio. One stunningly great item is much better than 15 “just ok” items.