Salary advice from early promotion in my career. Junior to Full Technical Artist

Hi there. I was hoping to get some advice on how to enter this conversation. I am a junior technical artist at my company with almost 1 year experience in total. With lady luck at my side I have been given big challenges so far and I have learned a lot. I just was told last week I will not be a junior now and will be promoted which I am happy about that! I will be only tech artist on my team working with one developer and one customer support. I will be leading the team as we are creating mutilple. Tools for different games engines and 3d packages. I am a really excited for this opportunity but, I am not sure how to bring up salary. At my time at the company i have gotten 2 raises already but I started very low and had just earned a decent wage for a junior. Now that I am getting a promotion with higher responsibilities I was expecting a raise with that but, it sounds like they will need convincing. I think it will be tough with my lack of experience and being that I just got hired on a junior tech artist a few months ago. (Was a 3d artist contractor before that)

How should I enter that conversation?

Does it matter what the average wage is?

What should i do if they say no?

Any other advice would be great.

Since this is as a super common question, I’m writing this up in a more general way, though I hope it helps in your particular circumstances.

There’s really two different aspects to this kind of conversation.

Knowing the field