[Maya API] Get the vertices of selected object

Hey all,

I am trying to write a little check to ensure that the lowest vertices on a selected object is not below Y 0. My thinking was I would just get each of the vertices for the selected object and just loop through checking the translate of Y for each of them and if I see 0 or less stop.

I have tried to get the list of vertices but I am struggling to find what I need. I am pretty new to working with MAYA and somewhat struggle with their docs as well, so if there are other resources people use for MAYA that would also be a massive help.

Thanks

1 Like

Here’s a python function that does what you want I believe

import maya.OpenMaya as om

def getVerticesBelowHeight(mesh_name, height):
    """
    Gets all the vertices that are below the given height (y-axis).
    Args:
        mesh_name (string): Name of mesh to find vertices below given y value
        height (float): Y axis value to find vertices that are below the y value.
    Returns:
        (list): mesh_name.vtx[i] of all vertices that are below the height value in y-axis.
    """
    # Get Api MDagPath for object
    vertices = []
    mesh_path = om.MDagPath()
    mesh_selection = om.MSelectionList()
    mesh_selection.add(mesh_name)
    mesh_selection.getDagPath(0, mesh_path)

# Iterate over all the mesh vertices and get vertices below the given height
    vertex_i = om.MItMeshVertex(mesh_path)
    while not vertex_i.isDone():

if vertex_i.position(om.MSpace.kWorld).y < height:
            vertices.append(mesh_name + '.vtx[' + str(vertex_i.index()) + ']')

next(vertex_i)

return vertices

Here’s a relatively easy newbie version that doesn’t need the API, in case that’s the stumbling block:

import maya.cmds as cmds

def get_verts_below(obj, comparison):
    results = []

# get all the vertices in the object
    vertlist = cmds.polyListComponentConversion(obj, tv=True)

# this get all of their world-space positions as a flat list: