Mastering Tech Art as a craft

Hi guys,

This is more of a philosophical question, but I’m reaching a point in my career (which is still young) where I’m unsure of where I’m headed and what I should focus on.

I’ve been a technical artist for about 2.5 years, and I enjoy it immensely. It is the perfect blend of art and tech, a job I really never knew existed growing up. You see a lot of young people who decide they want to make games and say “I’ll do whatever you need! Art, programming, you name it” and little do they know, that such a job DOES exist but it requires a compatible mindset and a truly “both sides of the brain” kind of thinking.

I have a Computer Science background, but believe I am an artist at heart. I find programming to be fun, really. But I was never fascinated or in love enough with CS to want to just look at code all day. I love working in Max and having one eye on the viewport and one eye on the editor, writing code and switching back and forth between.

But…what’s next? I’ve been reading a lot about how artists approach their craft, like this amazing post on cgsociety:
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showpost.php?p=5912866&postcount=7

So… what does a TECH ARTIST do? What do you devote your time to? What core knowledge and fundamentals are we learning, or are we forever just very applied “tips and tricks” kind of people?

I personally want to feel like I am learning a CRAFT, something I am mastering. Our tools aren’t as traditional as a pencil and paper… so what is our lifelong goal? Or are we ever just filling in vacant “well, someone’s gotta do it” roles from company to company?

Personally… I’ve been drawn towards developing my art skills. Traditional, 3d, you name it. If I could go back and do it all again, I would have gone to art school. As it is, I have a tech background so that is kind of my bread and butter, but I would love to have a more well rounded “traditional” skillset to fall back to.