I cannot use TextureSample with custom HLSL gaussian blur function

I am relatively new in HLSL, I am trying to implement gaussian blur for my new dynamic shadow material project. I can input Texture Object, but not TextureSample, and getting an error, Is there is any other function for TextureSample? If not how do I get alpha from Texture Object? I am totally confused.

Error with TextureSample: error X3004: undeclared identifier 'TexSampler’

With Texture Object

With TextureSample

Source:

float3 blur = Texture2DSample(Tex, TexSampler, UV);

for (int i = 0; i < r; i++) {

blur += Texture2DSample(Tex, TexSampler, UV + float2(i dist, 0));
blur += Texture2DSample(Tex, TexSampler, UV - float2(i
dist, 0));

}

for (int j = 0; j < r; j++) {

blur += Texture2DSample(Tex, TexSampler, UV + float2(0, j dist));
blur += Texture2DSample(Tex, TexSampler, UV - float2(0, j
dist));

}

blur /= 2*(2*r)+1;
return blur;

Source reference: Custom Expressions | Unreal Engine Documentation

To use the alpha channel, change to type float4.

1 Like

Thanks for replying buddy, you made my day. But I wonder which version of Unreal Engine do you use? Unfortunately, I cannot set any output variable name from the Custome node.

I am using version 4.26.
In previous versions, use the Component Mask node.

But the Alpha variable making the problem, Displaying an undeclared variable. Without naming the variable how does it possible? I am sorry if there is any.

you don’t need an alpha variable.

1 Like

You need to pass a TextureObject into the Tex input of your custom node (you can see that Jeonguk is doing this in their example). In your material, you’re using a Texture Sampler node and outputting the RGB value into the Tex input of your custom node, so the custom node sees the Tex value as a float3.

The syntax you need to use is Tex.Sample(TexSampler, UV); instead of Texture2DSample(Tex, TexSampler, UV);