HLSL / .FX Post Effect Shaders in 3dsmax

Hey everyone,

for the record, we are not a gamedeveloper and i have only VERY limited knowlege of HSLS and alike.

I am trying to create a diagnostic shader highlighting backfacing faces. The implementation provided by xview seems cumbersome (only selected objects) and rather slow (at least in our scenes).

I tried starting from the samples. But none of them seems to use the Normals. I took the post_output sample and added the normal by guessing. This leads to the shader not displaying anything anymore. There is no debugging/feedback whatsoever tho, so it is reall tough to get anything to work (besides tinting the output as a whole :wink: ).
Anyone happen to know a spot to find more samples or is able to lend a hand?

The Max docs and Maxscript docs do not really mention the feature at all so i am a bit lost.

Kind Regards and thanks in advance,
Thorsten

I’m no expert but I believe you can only use the winding order to determine which direction a face draws in rather than having access to normals . You do this per pass

Here’s a snippet from a shader I’m writing at the moment.

CullMode = cw draws the “front” faces

pass light01F
    <
        string Script= "RenderColorTarget0=;"
        "Draw=Geometry;";
    >
     {
 	  VertexShader = compile vs_3_0 VS(g_LightPos);
 	  CullMode = cw;
 	  ZEnable = true;
 	  ZWriteEnable = true;
 	  ZFunc = lessEqual;
 	  AlphaBlendEnable = true;
 	  SrcBlend = one; 
 	  DestBlend = one;
       PixelShader  = compile ps_3_0 PS(g_LightCol, 1);
     }

Hey there, thanks for the input. I was under the impression you could access the normals as this is beeing done in some of the material samples. Anyways. I’ll look into that. I want a 2-pass effect rendering different col per pass i guess.

Thanks again!
Thorsten

I did say I was no expert :wink: