Beginner in Tools Development and Proceduralism

Hey everyone!

I’m looking for a bit of guidance on starting out in tools development, both overall and additionally in how procedural content generation can play a role. I’m interested by the breadth of this topic. The idea of empowering artists to do their best work is really exciting to me. I’m a student studying architecture, but I’ve done a little bit of tinkering with game engines and software development on the side. That being said, I’m certainly still a beginner with grasping programming languages.

It seems like many of the GDC talks and other online resources related to tools development and proceduralism are really high-level and advanced, which is understandable with the complexity of the topic and the fact that (form my understanding) a lot of this work isn’t done by entry or junior-level individuals.

I’m willing to do the work, and I totally understand that there’s a fair bit of bootstrapping and piecing together your own trajectory in something like tech art. I’ve gathered that a good place to start is to find a weakness or redundancy in the pipeline and create something to optimize it— but as a beginner, it’s a bit difficult to find those weak points without more extensive knowledge of the pipeline itself. Anyway, if anyone has any guidance on good starting projects, software, programming languages, best practices, or other resources for beginners, it’d be greatly appreciated!

Proceduralism is a very broad term.
Python, Houdini or Substance Designer can be used to make some procedural stuff in very different ways for instance.

What do you need to achieve?

I’m pretty sure that any Tech Art position whose description includes “procedural” directly means Houdini expertise.

As for general Tool stuff:
I just wrapped up work on a Maya UI wrapper for a tool created by our Houdini guy. It involved :

• General Python
  • Maya Python
  • PyQt /Pyside 2
  • Qt Designer