Becoming TA as a 3D Artist now studying Software Engineering

Just a few questions regarding career advice!
Quick introduction, I’ve been doing 3D for around 6-ish years now. Mostly through self learning, but also an internship and a few freelance jobs. Just recently have I started studying software engineering.
Technical Art is such a broad field that trying to identify what to learn has been incredibly difficult. But from the descriptions I have read, it seems to fit my way of thinking and the position I naturally put myself in projects. My study is mostly independent-studying.

The tool development and pipeline side seem the most interesting to me. I want to help make artists lives easier by using my knowledge of code and understanding the inconveniences the artists face. What would the general advice be for someone like me to grow into a useful tech artist?

• What is a good starting point for getting into tech art and getting the learning ball rolling?
  • Are there good sources on what professional tech artists are doing?
  • Is there a place to find portfolios of tech artists so I can compare myself and get an idea of the skills they use?
  • What fundamental skills would be best to work on, early on?
  • How flexible is a technical artist between games and film?
  • What are some good projects to do for learning? What kind of projects are nice to show off in a portfolio?
  • Am I even asking the right questions?

Whenever I look up technical art, or related terms, I find a lot of professionals who make Substance Materials and do a bit of Houdini on the side. I can’t find much about pipeline and tool development. Finding resources has been difficult, so I am trying to look for all the pointers I can get!

I understand this is quite a lot to ask. Having done 3D for so long, (6 years may not be long to some, but being only 20, it’s quite a chunk of my life.) it feels weird to start at the bottom again without a clear concrete vision.

Hey there,