Are Technical artist must care about rigging?

I am an Environment Artist, But recently iam mostly focused on both Procedural Environments and shaders. I moving to the tech art side though other studios mentioned the rigging is a mandatory thing. I don’t like to rig characters but my colleague told me you should take care of the rigging part too if you wanna go ahead with it. I am confused about whether he wrong or right. But I don’t wanna mess around with rigging can I go ahead with both environment and shaders? Is that a good idea?

Hi @Beefyhead - Welcome to the forum!

In my opinion, i’d classify rigging as a sub-domain of technical art in the character deformation and articulation space. The same can be said for world art, vfx, shaders etc i.e one isn’t a requirement of the other merely they are different strings on the same instrument :violin: - to continue with the metaphor, the more strings you can play the broader your range can be. :slight_smile:

Now as for requirements for jobs etc - thats an entirely different matter. Some may require technical specialities in multiple areas or specifically just one. Thats dependent on the job spec. For example if theres a tech-artist job in environment art, I don’t think rigging would be a potential requirement - but again dependent on the job spec. If the job was for a cloth simulation artist, it’s certainly a plus to know character articulation and it may either ask or imply that it’s a plus to know it.

1 Like

Thanks, bud for the reply. I guess I should have to learn the basics of rigging. I know the concept but I didn’t work yet. Do you think Maya is a mandatory package? I am a max guy.