Animator Looking To Become A Technical Animator

Hello everyone! I’ve been working as a gameplay animator for a few months now but I find myself enjoying hooking up animations in engine, rigging models and talking tech with the programmers a lot more then I want to sit there and animate.

I’ve learned a few different rigging tools, ART, MRS, mGear, Advanced skeleton, etc, and know my way around UE4 and Unity in terms of setting up basic animation blueprints/ animation controllers, I just lack direction at the minute, I’ve read some posts here and it seems the role varies a lot, I’ve also googled and it does just seem all over the place.

My two biggest questions would be:

What are the base skills I need to be a technical animator? I.e. what should I teach myself to get my first tech anim job
What would I include in a demo reel?

I’d also be interested in any tips or advice from animators turned tech animators.

Thank you for any replies to my topic, have a nice day.

I tread the same path of animator to Technical animator.

skin weighting, rigging, python, and Maya.

Skinning: understanding how to paint skin weights efficiently and realistically, knowing what edge flow does to deformations, and understanding how to control the number of influences on a vertex.

Rigging: Understanding how joints/bones/deformers work. Knowing the best joint placement within a mesh for optimal deformation. In Maya, understanding the joint orient attribute and how it relates to flipping and gimbal lock. IK , spline IK, and ribbon IK setups. For games, understanding how to separate the exportable hierarchy form the control rig.