A Tech Artists creed?

After Seth posted on G+ about a blog post he found of mine about being a Lead (well his quote was specifically about code katas), and talking to some people about the responsibilities and tendencies of tech artists, I thought it’d be interesting to create a ‘tech artists creed.’

Is this a good idea?
What are some ideas for the creed?
What do we forget/need to be reminded of the most?

Maybe if it’s good I’ll make it into a shirt.

Here’s a good article about the benefit of oaths:

Here’s the most famous, the Hippocratic Oath:

Here are some various creeds:

Googling for professional creeds or professional oaths gives me examples.

I think that the creed should be something similar to Tron’s;

I am a Tech Artist,
I fight for the artists.

^^ This.

A creed would be awesome! I’m not great with words, however the rifleman’s creed is a pretty awesome starting point.

“This is my pipeline, there are many like it, but this one is mine…”

I think it’s an interesting idea.

for i in techArtists {

}

document++ :slight_smile:

I like the “fight for the artists” thoughts. We’re the middle-men of game development… advocating for artists, ensuring quality and efficiency but understanding limitations of tech, balancing it all, cleaning up “other peoples” messes, etc. I’d like to see those concepts (phrased much more elegantly) woven into the oath.

[QUOTE=Drachis;11356]I think that the creed should be something similar to Tron’s;

I am a Tech Artist,
I fight for the artists.[/QUOTE]

Too general to be a creed but that will make an awesome T. Can you get me a giant version cleaned up (and with transparency instead of a black background) and I’ll make a new T for the spreadshirt site?

For everyone else, keep the ideas coming, I’ll phrase something up when I get some more ideas (if no one is inspired to first).