A PySide2 question abot window flags

hey everyone, I recently started learning PySide2 to create better UIs in maya.
while building a tool I wanted to add a “minimize window” button to the GUI, and after some looking found the following solution:

self.setWindowFlag(QtCore.Qt.WindowMinimizeButtonHint, True)

this worked fine for me. I worked using maya 2020.
the problem is that when I tried it out in maya 2019 and below for some reason it doesn’t recognize that “setWindowFlag” flag.
so… in order to make it compatible to those versions as well and because I don’t want to altogether give up the minimize button, can someone help me out with a different way to approach it?

btw - I’m using windows

thanks in advance!

Did you set the CustomizeWindowHint flag as well? Apparently you need to.

From the Qt Docs: https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qt.html

The CustomizeWindowHint flag is used to enable customization of the window controls. This flag must be set to allow the WindowTitleHint , WindowSystemMenuHint , WindowMinimizeButtonHint , WindowMaximizeButtonHint and WindowCloseButtonHint flags to be changed.

On a separate note: What are you doing that the minimize button needs to be manually added in the first place? I’ve always just inherited from QMainWindow QDialog or QDockWidget and Qt takes care of all that for me.

Or are you making a completely separate button other than the one in the top-right that will minimize the window?

If so, there’s apparently this method: https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qwidget.html#setWindowState, and you pass WindowMinimized to minimize it. (this flag is also documented in that first link)

1 Like

I’m currenly using the QDialog module that for some reason doesn’t have it loaded by deafult… only the close button.
I tried the CustomizeWindowHint, but it’s also an attribute of the setWindowFlag that for some reason isn’t available in maya 2019 and below so it doesn’t really help me…