A newbee animator who wants to be a tech-artist

Hi guys, just heard this website from a book and here I am ! I’m currently a junior animator and really want to dive into tech area. I have basic knowledge of rigging and I’m just lost where to even begin to become a tech-artist. I have taken one pymel class and have basic understanding how code works. Beyond that, I have no clue where to start and which language i should start with. I hope I can get some advise here to either buy a book or videos or anything to get start.
Thank you very much guys. any help will be grateful .

1 Like

I’ve found that while books and tutorials are helpful, the best way (in my experience) to get comfortable with coding is to write small scripts to help out with the tasks you are already doing. So, you might be rigging something and realize you have to perform a certain task many times. See if you can write a script that automates that. Nothing beats learning by running into real problems, bugs, and technical challenges that you have to search out the answers to.
You can look at the script editor (assuming you’re in Maya) to see what commands are being executed when you do certain things. For this reason, I think MEL is a good starting point, but once you get somewhat familiar with the process, you might want to jump to Python, which is more powerful for certain things. Hope that’s somewhat helpful.

Maya Programming for Games and Film (Mechtly/Trowbridge) and Practical Maya Programming with Python (Galanakis) are the two books every Maya TA seems to have.

As far as Mel vs Python, I have to favor python. Mel’s value lies in revealing the structure and systems of Maya, how Maya ‘thinks’. Maya.cmds is basically a python wrapper for Mel. Early on in my career I was advised to ‘Google how to do stuff with Mel, then implement with Python.’ python is much more useful beyond Maya, and more fun to program with as well.