2D Art in Tech-Art Portfolio?

Hey everyone! It’s that time again - noob portfolio advice.

I’m getting a lot of mixed opinions, but none from tech artists on this topic.

Some job descriptions mention the want for artistic skills beyond that of rigging, FX, tools, etc.

I’m thinking about adding an “Extras” tab to my portfolio to show a variety of 2D work, and 3D renders I’ve done. I’m no professional illustrator or concept artist, but I like to think it’s decent enough.

Some say this will clutter my portfolio and confuse employers, and some say it will harm my chances if people concentrate on the “Extras” not being up to standards held for other art positions.

What do you guys think?

I would prefer seeing 2D art as part of the process of a project and not as a tab of his own.

Like some anatomy drawings as research for the edgeloops of a model so you can rig/skin it properly.

Or paintings for finding the look you want to get with with a shader.

This way you proove you are putting an effort in decent research to get the best result.

Some say this will clutter my portfolio and confuse employers, and some say it will harm my chances if people concentrate on the “Extras” not being up to standards held for other art positions.

These are both really valid concerns. Don’t include anything in your portfolio that someone wouldn’t actually hire you to do.

Don’t give people a chance to critique work that isn’t applicable to the job you’re applying for. If nothing else, they might question your judgement in including work that isn’t, as you say, up to standards.

Have up on your public portfolio only work in your core skills, work you think is your absolute best. Prospective employers that haven’t even contacted you yet will look at anything that’s public and form an opinion about you based on what you’ve shown. If you think you’ll need to show artwork for some applications, prep a gallery but make it private and share it only when you need to.