Understanding pymxs without documentation

Hello! Im new to 3ds in general, but more specifically to pymxs. We little to no documentation and it is slowing me down exponentially as I dont know how the methods work, what are the equivalencies, and at the end I end up executing a lot of maxscript anyway.

The documentation says pymxs is equivalent to maxscript, but thats not the case as there is a huge amount of syntax of maxscript that doesnt have an intuitive equivalent in Python, so there is a grueling trial and error process and it slows down everything. For example, I haven’t figured out how to define MouseTools in Python, because there is no syntax equivalent in Python for how is done in maxscript, and Im basically blocked. There are multiple instances like this.

Are there any suggestions, recommendations, rules you can give me to understand pymxs better given the lack of documentation.

Thanks

After asking this very question in Autodesk Forum they linked me to their freshly published new documentation you can find here:

https://help.autodesk.com/view/MAXDEV/2022/ENU/?guid=Max_Python_API_using_pymxs_html&_ga=2.200167086.164844258.1619425512-152813055.1601369191

I dont think is as comprehensive as I would like, but is a step forward.

There is a common misconception that pymxs is a different thing to maxscript. pymxs merely wraps maxscript so the comprehensive maxscript documentation can be used to decipher how to use it, you just need to apply python syntax.

As it stands you will only be able to use python for about 90% of what you want to do. Anything that has to evaluate in the scene needs to be maxscript. The cool thing is you can call python from maxscript and vice versa so you can cover every aspect with a bit of imagination.

I feel the need to leave this as part of the discussion as it might help push Autodesk by making their users aware of the problems.

You are wrong.