The Demotivated Technical Artist

Hello Rob and all other TA’s reading this…

I’m basically writing this out of desperation and demotivation seeking sincere advice from the elites here.

My background is in Software engineering and I have always liked to create art using a computer. I find out quite late in life that I’m quite a visual person. I’ve recently been working as a Technical Artist in a game studio in Vancouver (Canada). This was my 1st job after I completed my Masters here. (I have had no formal training/internship in a game studio before this)

I was interviewed 1st by a CG-Sup and an Art director, 2nd interview was by a Tools programmer and World Artist. I made it thru got my 1st job as a TA.

My 1st task was to upgrade their Max plugin which is required to push in models/textures from Max to their game engine. The plugin used, C#, C++ and Max script. I only knew C++ cause of my Engg background, never used the other two. Anyway I wanted to learn this so I went ahead (without a given deadline) and I thought it would take me 2 weeks but it took me a month. The reason primarily being no documentation, no design rules of this plugin it was a hack-slash way to get it runnning really fast by the people who wrote it. My way of learning this was using Debugging , stepping thru the whole code, it was time consuming and frustrating. (They didnt even have comments in the code, nor a description header on a file)…

My next task was making a procedural shader (glitter effect) in HLSL, to be put in the game, I had 3 days to do it, thats what my CG-sup said. I got the effect in 5. Any how the CG-sup didnt like it and told me to find alternative ways (which by the way even he didnt know at during this span).

Later, I was again put back onto the same plugin cause it required more upgrades and bug removal and neither the tools programmer nor him had the time to fix this stuff and the artist needed this fast.