Maya Depth of Field Viewport 2.0

Hi,
I was wondering if there was a way to access / modify the Viewport 2.0 Depth of Field effect. There is very little documentation about it. My first goal would be to make it more physically correct. ( Adjust blur amount to match an off-lline renderer ) Second make it work with transparent objects like in the attached image.

I have some OpenMaya 2 experience, though I assume this would be more a cpp override because of performance issues.
https://help.autodesk.com/view/MAYAUL/2017/ENU/?guid=__files_GUID_E171DC25_5750_4CA0_9A6C_A411EED1CE3E_htm This is what I found in the documentation. If any one has any tips / guides / articles how to approach this I would be really grateful.
Thanks!

Hey! I’m looking to do something very similar to this. Were you able to figure out how to achieve this?

Hi,
Kind of, I wrote a tool in python that picks up dof and jprototyped a physical dof node that recalculates the dof properly. I also found where maya stores the CoC values. I leanred some cpp so i`m rewriting it now since python sucks for viewport stuff :confused: Also maya has the near and close focus values totally off. They’re accessible thourh the api though. Regarding the per pixel dof - its a shader feature :confused: and maya straight-foward renderer is also quite limited in terms of post so the dof effect is… :slight_smile: yeah at least you can make it more responsive and physically accurate.
You can check my last reel:
https://vimeo.com/manage/videos/511273466

2 Likes

Ok so I rewrote the dofContext in c++ and merged the physicalDofNode into it.
You can check it out here:

Download:

Github:

Thanks!

2 Likes

Wow! That is cool ! and it is useful really

Will you sir release the source code of your DOF plugin helping to compile for elder version maya (like Maya 2018 / 2016)?

Hi MineClever,