Matrix - Looking for help or any documentation

Hello everyone,

I’m new over here and I’m not very good with code, cause I’m coming fro 2D animation. Hope it4s gonna be clear.

I have some difficulty to find/understand how the matrix is build in maya. I
I have found some documentation about the pyhton matrix
https://www.cs.cornell.edu/courses/cs4620/2010fa/lectures/03transforms3d.pdf.

But it seems that the matrix in maya is not exactly build the same way. If you have a link to doc, or an explanation it would be wonderful! I need this to update a plugin for an other soft, that send info to Maya and Blender.

In the meantime I have tested all the value and made my own data-sheet. cf picture
The red values are the place where something’s missing.

Below the sheet, there is some picture of my attemps, sorry I write them in french.

1. some random value and the matrix coresponding

2. when I change values around the X axes, the value in matrix change except on the X line, it is what I expect.

3. when I change the values around Y axes, all the value change even in the Y line of the matrix, wich is weird.

4. Then when I change the value around Z axes, the value of X and Y lines changes in the matrix, and the first to value of the Z line is changing too.

I am probably missing something, since I don’t really know coding or python, so If you can help me or point into a direction, I would be very grateful !!!

Thank you very much

The vectors in a matrix do no directly correspond to the rotation values you see in channel boxes.

• Matrix rotation vectors are normalized, so the total of all values in the vector == 1.0
  • Matrix values have no concept of how many times something has been rotated more than 360 degrees
  • The channel box shows key frame values in the current objects space. For rotation these values are in degrees.
  • Matrix values are in parent space