Help in My Quest to Become a TA; No Idea Where to Start

Hello Everybody! I am a recent grad with one contract under my belt. I recently went to a games convention, and after hearing my interests, a games professor referred me to this site. He really turned me on to the idea of becoming a tech artists, but as I have been cruising around the forums, I am not sure where to start.

I have been using Unity for 5 years now. I have participated in game jams, made some tiny, 2D projects; and have completed two contracts for clients (one in school, and one outside) Environmental design/modeling out scenes/level design was my primary role in college, as I was paired with excellent programmers when we were put in teams. I stayed in art/design roles until my last contract, where I was the only developer creating a simulation of a chemical reactor. I effectively learned solid amount of C# in 6 months and discovered a love for programming.
Additionally, I am able to model in Cinema 4D/Blender (Although not too well - I need more time)

After speaking to that professor at the games conference, he mentioned that I should learn python. I decided to start there and have been working my way through some online courses to great effect.

There seems to be a few key skills a TA must have in order to either get hired or, more realistically in my position, get an internship. I am lacking many of them LOL.

From what I have gathered: rigging, writing shaders, animation, python, a statically-typed high level language (Probably c++, eventually), and rendering and post-FX.

Is this accurate? How should I approach this? What order would be most beneficial to learning these skills in? (I am also building a game in Unity that I can apply all of these concepts to. Will that potentially work?)

Just trying to get a gauge on where to take my career next. There seems to be a laundry list of skills to learn, and I am unsure of where to put my attention first.