Graduate Considering Runner/Tech Runner Position

Hello,

I finished a masters course in 3D animation in September and before that I attained a BSc in mathematics. I had hoped that I would be able to go straight into the position that I wanted, character rigger, but it seems that either there are no advertised positions or you need a number of years experience to apply.

Runner and Tech Runner roles are often considered as a way for people to get into the industry and there are a few companies that I have my eye on that are offering them; of course there’s no guarantee that if I were to apply that I would be accepted, but I just wanted to ask if anyone on here started as a Runner (or preferably a Tech Runner)? What was your experience like? How long were you in the role before you moved into another role?

Thanks,
-Harry

I never considered getting into the industry that way, but here are my thoughts on it…

I only worked in a company once that had a runner. That was at Pinewood studios, and there was a lot of running involved as the whole complex is pretty big and there often was the need to run to the other end of the complex - I think mocap was there. Not sure if the guy had any aspirations, but I saw him sometimes lurking around and talking to the shader guys. But somehow it reminds me of QA people who sometimes come around and lurk, with a few of them trying to get an artist position.

From my own experience I think it’s easier to move into tech art from a regular artist position - e.g. make yourself a name as the technical guy on the team, the guy that makes awesome workflow scripts, the guy that gives the TA team great technical feedback, etc. I’ve seen that happening a few times. I think it is also easier to move up from QA/runner within the same company because people know you already. But moving up and to a different compant at the same time might be challenging.