Getting Started

Hello World

I am a 3D Artist/Animator who enjoys programming as a hobby. I love programming and I would like to get more into the programming side of things. Whether those things include pipeline tools/shaders or what have you. The thing is is that I have no idea where to even begin.

As veterans, do any of you have suggestions of baby projects to begin with? Links to tutorial projects or general advice that you wished you had starting out?

Thank you so much to anyone who took the time to read this,
Mhett

For shaders, definitely check out the stuff @bcloward has done with Shaders 101 through 301 (here’s 201 from GDC 2017) https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B1Kflq0fBla3ZV80Q3RGZFBJMjg . They’re all in UE4 and he breaks it down really well. Might be worth just implementing what he’s got here to see how much you can learn from it.

2 Likes

@ozzmeister00

Thank you so much! This all looks amazing and rich with information.
This prompted me try to find other resources, and I believe this is a tutorial for shaders in Unity. This is for anyone else looking for help in the future.

As for projects to get started with non-shader coding.
I would start with the simple things that you find yourself doing repeatedly, and look into ways of automating it. Basically ask yourself, is there anything I do that has 2 or more steps that don’t actually require me to make a decision? If so then it can possibly be compacted into 1 step.

2 Likes

Exactly as Bob says - and it has the added benefit of, if it’s something you would actually find useful (rather than simply being an exercise), you’re far more likely to actually finish it! Most TDs git repos are full of half finished (or half started, in my case) projects.

This is also fine, by the way - but it’s nice to finish something that you’re proud of!

1 Like

I can definitely relate to this. I just file most of them under “I learned something”, but yeah it would be nice to finish some of them.

1 Like