Future Portfolio Revisions: have input?

Overview
I’m working on portfolio revisions this quarter. I’d love some constructive criticism on my current design. Feel free to comment here or privately email heathermdecker (at) gmail (dot) com.

Background
I’m a graduate student working on a MFA in Interactive Design and Game Development through Savannah College of Art and Design. I have about a year left in my degree program and my focus is to improve my offerings as a technical artist.

My Initial Thoughts
[ul]
[li]move contact info and social network links to the front page (no more contact section)[/li][li]add a page for linking relevant blogs, tutorial, recognition, in chronological order. Perhaps call this section “Links.”[/li][li]add filter links on the main page, for work categories (perhaps key words such as Flash, game design, Unreal, Environments, etc.) Default would be “All.”[/li][li]next/prev links on all piece pages, so users can thumb through the body of works without coming back out to the main page, if desired[/li][/ul]

What do you think?

Hey,

I have been working a lot on my portfolio the last few months and I have been asking a lot of feedback from all kinds of persons with all kinds of different personalities and backgrounds. And these are some things I remember at this moment (just awake :slight_smile: ) :

• Never use pure black as a background
  • Small gradients as a background make it a bit more interesting to look at
  • Don’t use too much different colors, use color to indicate important things
  • Make your thumbs big enough (prefer 16:9) to get a cinematographic feeling
  • give a really small description to the thumb about what it is
  • use enough whitespace in your design and don’t push everything really close to each other
  • make everything fit on one page so the people don’t have to scroll
  • if it is longer then one page, let the user know visually that there is still content there
  • don’t have too much menu items