FaceFX

We’re planning on using FaceFX to handle our facial animation. I was curious what kinds of experiences others have had with it, as I have very little experience with it, but have a short period of time to get a lot done with it.

One of the big things I’m curious about is hand keying ability within FaceFX. I didn’t even know it was a feature until opening it up and looking at the docs. Has anyone experimented with setting up a hand key rig within FaceFX? How are the curve editting tools and other general animation tools as compared to a 3d package like Max or Maya?

Thanks guys!

I use FaceFX a lot and really like it. I don’t do a lot of hand-keying in it, and when I did a felt a bit clumsy - probably because I wasn’t used to the workflow. It’s different from Max or Maya and takes a bit of getting used to - but it’s usable.

I really like how easy it is to set up complex facial controls in FaceFX. It does things pretty quickly that would be much harder and not practical in Max. It does pretty nice audio analysis and lip sync generation too if you work hard on refining your set of phonemes.

Ben, have you compared the phoneme data from faceFX with motionbuilders build in phoneme generator? I’m curious if you have what your findings are. Also wondering, since there’s no pricing on the site, if it’s affordable software for a small compagny doing animation (not games), I don’t need exact pricing, I should contact them, but an estimate could save me a mail and a product manager spamming me for the purchase :wink:

Thanks,
-Johan

Johan,