Errors when compiling simple MPxDeformerNode test

Hey everybody,

I have some basic experience with c++ but almost no experience with the Maya C++ API. (I am familiar with the Python API though)
Despite being able to compile the DevKit samples from Autodesk, I’m unable to compile the code below.
I tried replacing the code in one of the DevKit samples with the code below and even that wouldn’t compile.
Would anybody be able to tell me why this simple test code is not compiling ?

The errors mention the “pluginMain.obj” but even when removing it and just trying to compile the “testDeformer.hpp” file, I still get a list of “LNK2019: unresolved external symbol” errors.

List of errors:

* error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol "__declspec(dllimport) public: __cdecl Autodesk::Maya::OpenMaya20190000::MPxDeformerNode::MPxDeformerNode(void)" (__imp_??0MPxDeformerNode@OpenMaya20190000@Maya@Autodesk@@QEAA@XZ) referenced in function "public: __cdecl testDeformer::testDeformer(void)" (??0testDeformer@@QEAA@XZ)

* error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol "__declspec(dllimport) public: virtual __cdecl Autodesk::Maya::OpenMaya20190000::MPxDeformerNode::~MPxDeformerNode(void)" (__imp_??1MPxDeformerNode@OpenMaya20190000@Maya@Autodesk@@UEAA@XZ) referenced in function "public: virtual __cdecl testDeformer::~testDeformer(void)" (??1testDeformer@@UEAA@XZ)

* error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "public: virtual class Autodesk::Maya::OpenMaya20190000::MObject & __cdecl Autodesk::Maya::OpenMaya20190000::MPxGeometryFilter::accessoryAttribute(void)const " (?accessoryAttribute@MPxGeometryFilter@OpenMaya20190000@Maya@Autodesk@@UEBAAEAVMObject@234@XZ)