Changing career path: character artist to TA

Hello,

Ive been building a portfolio to get a job as a 3D character artist until I found out recently that character artists don’t get paid well compared to other positions and often work unpaid overtime. That made me decide to change my career goal to become a technical artist instead since salary is generally higher.

Would you please give me some recommendations on how to prepare for my demo reel as TA? Can I still use Character modelling that I have made on the demo reel?
I have no knowledge on python, c# or c++ so I will have to learn these by myself while also keep learning 3d softwares like maya, subtance painter, zbrush for my character portfolio. I would also need to keep learning anatomy and practice sculpting as character artist. I am so confused as to where to start and there seems too many things to learn by myself without guidance. I am not sure where to prioritize. I have a degree in animation and am in late 20s.

Thanks for reading and I would really appreciate any recommendations or advice!

I’m sure some more folks will chime in, but in the meantime here are some relevant threads from the recent past:

http://discourse.techart.online/search?q=career

in particular

http://discourse.techart.online/search?q=portfolio

has a bunch of examples of TA portfolio discussions – if you skim the reactions you’ll see that the common thread is that TA portfolios are about demonstrating how you identified, analyzed and solved a problem. A traditional art portfolio is about eye-appeal, a TA portfolio tends to be about showing how you approached production or tech problems, which means that the accompanying text is often very important.

1 Like

Thanks for the advice. It seems that artistic aspect and modeling itself is much less important than I thought as TA.

There are lot of sub-species of TA . Generally the bit split is :slight_smile:

• tools and pipeline
  • shaders and effects
  • rigging and tech anim