Adobe Suite Error Logging

Hey Everyone,

Recently I’ve been working a lot with After Effects and Photoshop script development and now have a need to start looking at error logging of some kind. We’ve started to get odd exceptions that we’re having a hard time debugging and error logging in this case would help immensely.

The problem is that I’m not to sure on how to approach developing a solution to help handle this problem. The only way I can think of to log errors is to use a try/catch in any area that might be expected to fail. But to go through and add many try/catches just seems like a bad way to approach this. I’m curious if anyone has any ideas on how to implement this within our current tool set. Keep in mind we’re not using the Photoshop/After Effects SDK at this time and only using what the DOM & javascript has to offer.

I’m also curious to hear how you handle errors in any application whether its a DCC tool or an external app as I’ve had limited experience with logging previously.

Thanks,
Ryan

For some of our tools, the production versions are called through a function that implements bug reporting and wraps the main entry point for the tool in a try statement.

In the catch, we report the error, user, environment vars, version of the tool, version of the os, version of the app, etc etc etc. These particular tools are written in python, so we also dump the traceback. Given the introspection available in Adobe’s implementation of JavaScript, I’d be surprised if you can back-trace, though the exception should give you the source and the line number of the error.

Yup, the way this is usually done is to launch tools from a high-level system that takes care of all that. Usually you also have some sort of logging in your tools/libraries. At the point your getting crashes, you just want to put a try/catch as high up as possible, and do the error reporting in the catch, and then fail.